ERL©JulienBinet-1010568-2.jpg

ERLAITZA, 

Chardonnay of the Basque Ledge

ERLAITZA Chardonnay of the Basque Ledge, White

SITUATION

On the edge of the classified site of the Corniche Basque at 100m of altitude. The parcels are located on the crest of the first fold of the Pyrenees and overlook the ocean as far as the eye can see. A panorama going from the green of the mountains to the infinite blue of the Ocean. A mythical and spectacular landscape protected by the Conservatoire du Littoral.

 

VINTAGE

Erlaitza is born from the blend of the first three vintages 2011, 2012 and 2015. Perfectly healthy grapes, tanned in the South and of a clear and deep green-yellow in the West. Years with intense climates for a complementary blend between maturity and tension.

 

TERROIR

The Flysch of the Corniche Basque - object of study for the world scientific community - offers several million years of geological history in just a few meters. This geological layer generated by the formation of the Pyrenees offers an exceptional variety of soils. Rare soils with an almost non-existent agricultural horizon (15cm): bare rock.

The first two parcels facing West and South are permanently windy and benefit from the full course of the sun from East to West without any natural obstacle. To the South, the Rhune and the beginning of the Pyrenees chain, to the West and as far as the eye can see, the Ocean.

 

IN THE VINEYARD

Chardonnay vines on a slope and densely planted (6000 vines/ha) in May 2009. Manual, minimalist and Darwinian viticulture for the greatest respect of the soil, the plant and man. Guyot-double planted in the axis of the prevailing wind to take advantage of the natural climatic conditions, massive spontaneous grassing up to the flower, no trimming, no tilling and manual harvesting. These respectful and demanding cultural choices in extreme climatic conditions make each year the harvest uncertain and the yields minimalist.

 

VINIFICATION

Gentle pressing with gravity flow. Cold settling for 96 hours. Gravity vinification without pumping over and very long maturation on fine lees. Bottling by gravity in the vat. Minimalist interventions in the cellar.

 

VARIETIES

Chardonnay: 100%.

 

SPECIFICATIONS

Alcohol content: 13% vol.

 

 

HOW

Erlaitza is definitely an amazing wine that will reveal itself upon opening by decanting or for more caution by opening it in advance. It is a natural and free wine that has the impertinence of its youth and already a strong character.

 

TASTING

Its aromatic density allows it to be appreciated with or without accompaniment. Its different facets make it a wine for all occasions: antipasti, exotic dishes and meats in sauce, strawberry soup or chocolate dessert...

Révéler & Surprendre

 une gamme de vins bercée par l'Océan

ERLAITZA Chardonnay de la Corniche Basque, Blanc

SITUATION

En bordure du site classé de la Corniche Basque à 100m d'altitude. Les parcelles sont situées sur la crête du premier pli des Pyrénées et domine l’Océan à perte de vue. Un panoramique allant du vert des montagnes au bleu infini de l’Océan. Un paysage mythique et spectaculaire protégé par le Conservatoire du Littoral.

 

MILLÉSIME

Erlaitza est né de l’assemblage de l'intégralité des trois premiers millésimes 2011, 2012 et 2015. Des raisins parfaitement sains, bronzés au Sud et d'un vert-jaune clair et profond à l'Ouest. Des années aux climats intenses pour un assemblage complémentaire entre maturité et tensions.

 

TERROIR

Le Flysch de la Corniche Basque, objet d’études pour la communauté scientifique mondiale– offre plusieurs millions d’années géologiques en seulement quelques mètres. Ce millefeuille géologique généré par la formation des Pyrénées offre une variété de sols exceptionnelle. Des sols rares à horizon agricole quasi inexistant (15cm) : la roche à nu.

Les deux premières parcelles orientées Ouest et Sud sont ventées en permanence et bénéficient de la course entière du soleil d’Est en Ouest sans aucun obstacle naturel. Au Sud la Rhune et le départ de la chaîne des Pyrénées, à l’Ouest et à perte de vue l’Océan.

 

A LA VIGNE

Vignes de Chardonnay en pente et densément plantées (6000 pieds/ha) en mai 2009. Viticulture manuelle, minimaliste et darwinienne pour le plus grand respect des sols, de la plante et de l’homme. Guyot-double planté dans l’axe du vent dominant pour mettre à profit les conditions climatiques naturelles, enherbement spontané massif jusqu'à la fleur, pas de rognage, pas de travail du sol et vendanges manuelles. Ces choix culturaux respectueux et exigeants dans des conditions climatiques extrêmes rendent chaque année la récolte incertaine et les rendements minimalistes.

 

VINIFICATION

Pressurage délicat avec écoulement gravitaire. Débourbage de 96h à froid. Vinification gravitaire sans remontage et élevage très long sur lies fines. Mise en bouteille gravitaire à la cuve. Des interventions minimalistes également aux chais.

 

CÉPAGES

Chardonnay : 100%

 

SPÉCIFICATIONS

Degré d'alcool: 13% vol.

 
COMMENT

Erlaitza est assurément un vin étonnant qui se révèlera à l’ouverture en le décantant ou pour plus de prudence en l’ouvrant à l’avance. C’est un vin nature et libre qui a l’impertinence de sa jeunesse et déjà un caractère trempé.

 

DÉGUSTATION

Sa densité aromatique permet de l’apprécier avec ou sans accompagnement. Ses différentes facettes en font un vin de toutes les occasions : antipasti, plats exotiques et viandes en sauce, soupe de fraises ou dessert chocolaté…

1 / 1

Please reload

© 2020 EGIATEGIA -  All Rights Reserved 

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle